Обновено: Friday, 28 September 2012 13:02

History of UNWE - Sofia

University of National and World Economy is the largest as also the eldest higher educational institution of Economics in Bulgaria and Southeastern Europe and it has a history of 90 years.

University originates from the Free University of Political and Economic Sciences (FUPES) established by Order № 2155 of July, 5th, 1920 of the Minister of national education. In 1940 (by State Gazette, iss.№ 126 of June, 7th, 1940) it has been transformed into State Higher Institute of Finance and Administrative Sciences (SHIFAS) and then in 1947 it has been reorganized as a Faculty of Economic and Social Studies under Sofia University.

The autonomy of the University has been restored under the name Higher Institute of Economics (HIE) by Decree № 26 ("Messages”, iss. № 10 of February, 1st, 1952). In 1953 it was called Karl Marx by Decree №89 (" Messages”, iss. № 23 of March, 20th, 1953).

On April, 27th, 1990 the Academic Council has made the decision Karl Marx Higher Institute of Economics to be reorganized as a University of National and World Economy. That has been officially done by a Decision of the National Assembly for the establishment and transformation of the higher educational institutions (State Gazette, iss. № 68 of July, 7th, 1995).

Rector (Director): Prof. Stephan Bobchev
Vice-Rector (Assistant Director): Prof. Peter Bogaevsky
Rector (Director): Prof. Dr. Dimitar Dobrev
Rector (Dean, Exec. Dir. Rector): Prof. Dimitar Dimitrov

Vice – Rector (Dean): Assoc. Prof. Todor Polyakov
Vice – Rector (Dean): Assoc. Prof. Cyril Grigorov
Rector: Prof. Todor Nenov

Vice- Rectors:
Assoc. Prof. Nako Doynov
Assoc. Prof. Todor Polyakov
Prof. Dimitar Dimitrov
Rector: Acad. Jack Nathan

Vice- Rectors:
Assoc. Prof. Alexander Popov
Assoc. Prof. Peter Arsov
Prof. Pencho Radkovsky
Assoc. Prof. Veselin Hadginikolov
Prof. Ivan Illiev
Rector: Prof. Dr. Angel Tchaushev

Prof. Dimitar Dimitrov
Assoc. Prof. Peter Avramov
Assoc. Prof. Stephan Tzankov
Rector: Prof. Dr. Cyril Grigorov

Vice – Rectors:
Prof. Nesho Tzarevsky
Prof. Stephan Tzankov
Prof. Dimitar Dimitrov
Assoc. Prof. Nikola Velikov
Assoc. Prof. Dimitar Jordanov Dimitrov
Assoc. Prof. Zlatko Zlatanov
Rector: Prof. Dr. David Davidov

Vice – Rectors:
Prof. Nikola Naumov
Prof. Ivan Jordanov
Prof. Khrum Alexandrov
Prof. Lalew Radulov
Rector: Corr. Mbr. Prof. D.Sc. (Econ.) Ivan Illyev

Vice –Rectors:
Prof. Lalew Radulov
Assoc. Prof. Ivanka Dobreva
Prof. Grigor Vakliev
Prof. Triphon Georgiev
Prof. Dimitar Dimitrov
Rector: Prof. Dr. Grigor Vakliev

Vice – Rectors:
Prof. Triphon Georgiev
Prof. Lalew Radulov
Assoc. Prof. Ivanka Dobreva
Prof. Dimitar Dimirov
Rector: Prof. D.Sc. (Econ.) Michail Savov

Vice – Rectors:
Prof. Atanas Tanov
Prof. Danail Danailov
Prof. Toma Barbov
Assoc. Prof. Ivan Bonev
Rector: Prof. D.Sc. (Econ.) Danail Danailov

Vice – Rectors:
Prof. Atanas Tanov
Prof. Khrum Alexandrov
Prof. Toma Barbov
Prof. Stoyadin Savov
Assoc. Prof. Zdravko Obretenov
Rector: Prof. D.Sc. (Econ.) Stoyadin Savov

Vice – Rectors:
Prof. Kamen Mirkovitch
Prof. Stoyan Aikov
Prof. Methody Hristov
Prof. Sava Savov
Assoc. Prof. Vasil Manov
Assoc. Prof. Yosif Illiev
Rector: Prof. D.Sc. (Econ.) Michail Dinev

Vice – Rectors:
Prof. Ivan Grozev
Prof. Sava Savov
Prof. Ivan Dushanov
Rector: Prof. D.Sc. (Econ.) Lalew Radulov

Vice – Rectors:
Prof. Nigreta Velichkova
Assoc. Prof. Ekaterina Velichkova
Assoc. Prof. Asen Drumev
Prof. Georgy Danov
Assoc. Prof. Dimitar Stoykov
Assoc. Prof. Dimitar Doganov
Assoc.Prof. Radoslav Tzonchev
Assoc. Prof. Georgy Evgeniev
Rector: Prof. D.Sc. (Econ.) Kamen Mirkovitch 

Vice – Rectors:
Prof. Manol Ribov
Prof. Nikolay Nikolov
Prof. Hristo Kojuharov
Prof. Nikola Nikolov
Prof. Veltcho Stoyanov
Assoc. Prof. Hristo Dalkalatchev
Assoc. Prof. Todor Kanaliev
Assoc. Prof. Igor Damyanov
Assoc. Prof. Borislav Borisov
Assoc. Prof. Georgy Mishev

Chairman of the General Assembly:
Prof. Dr. Lyuben Karanikolov

Chairman of the Control Council:
Prof. D.Sc. (Econ.) Dimitar Shopov

Rector: Prof. Dr. Borislav Borisov
Honorary Rector of UNWE since 2012

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Statty Stattev
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Plamen Oresharski
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Jordan Bliznakov
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Jordanka Vladimirova
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Margarita Atanasova
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Dobromir Todorov
Prof. D.Sc. (Econ.) Plamen Mishev

First Vice-Rector:
Prof. D.Sc. (Econ.) Statty Stattev
Prof. D.Sc. (Econ.) Plamen Mishev
Prof. Dr. Jordanka Vladimirova
Prof. Dr. Veselka Pavlova
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Dobromir Todorov
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Marcho Markov
Prof. D. Sc. (Econ.) Valentin Kisimov

Chairman of the General Assembly
Prof. Dr. Lyuben Karanikolov
Prof. Dr. Blagoy Kolev

Chairman of the Control Council:
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Bozhana Nedelcheva
Prof.Dr. Hristina Balabanova
Prof. Dr. Atanas Vasilev